How to start with hardware I have lying around? (GTX 970, Raspberry Pi 2)

Hey all! Starting to get into cryptocurrency, and I have few things lying around that I think could salvage to start a small mining rig (for educational purposes mostly, before I get about ~3k more spending money from work this summer). Namely, I have a GTX970 that I originally bought last year for an eGPU that I haven't used in a while, due to school and whatnot. Secondly, I have a Raspberry Pi 2 lying around that I used as a backup computer when my laptop died.

My question is how would I begin to make a mining rig with these components? I just started researching things like ASIC chips, but I'm not sure how that would play well with my given hardware. I'm open to spending some more money right now in order to fill in the gaps, so to speak. My end goal for now is to have just a small rig powered by this GPU. Any help/tips would be great. Thanks a lot!!

Edit: Perhaps I've misunderstood, it seems ASIC is a different system than GPU setups?

Edit 2: I also have a CX430 PSU. I'm considering also mining Ethereum. Would the best solution now be to build a PC with these components?

Submitted June 14, 2017 at 07:54AM by rp19
via reddit http://bit.ly/2rfLQgE

